As I read it, first there's user-mode encryption in every case. Then, admin-mode is attempted, and, when successful, either the first 10 sectors including the MBR are overwritten by garbage, in case Kapersky software was found, or there's a botched attempt to encrypt the first 25 disk sectors. Mind that user-mode and admin-mode tasks are apparently in separate modules and that the user-mode module is run first, while detecting the Kapersky lab process and overwriting the disk sectors requires admin mode.
To me, the "Kapersky branch" appears to be more destructive than the default branch.
Edit: Also, there have been reports of the malware scanning and transmitting any credentials stored on the machine, while in "encrypted mode." (Suggesting, there's still a functional basic system left in order to accomplish these tasks.) Couldn't it be for Kapersky AV still being able to detect this activity and hence rather bricking the machine than giving away some of the features early?