back

by itvision·4y ago·view on hn ↗
It's almost never been about growth.

Actually deleting accounts means you're losing very valuable information about [past] customers, their behavior, geo, etc. Also some people may suddenly decide to delete their account and request its reactivation after a while.

It also means you cannot use this data for forensics which is not such a rare occurrence.

Storage is cheap, information is expensive.