I was just tricked into clicking an ad that simply said "play now" underneath the first slide. I thought it was going to start a slide show of the presentation. Scribd, if you are going to let just anybody advertise on your site you need to clearly mark what is an ad and what isn't.
Google team, clicking the add opened a tab that when attempting to close opened a custom dialog with two buttons at the bottom. "leave now" and "cancel" (or something like that). The page had populated that dialog with a bunch of text and ascii art pointing to the cancel button.
I didn't feel confident enough to click either buttons on this dialog because I thought be may have been some co-oped permissions dialog.I was unable to close the tab. I ended up using the task manager to kill chrome.
I took the time to make a note here because it's been ages (5 years perhaps) since I had to deal with this kind of crap. Has it always been around and I just haven't seen it or is there a resurgence these days.